Worldwide Week at Harvard, October 2–9, 2020

Annual Worldwide Week at Harvard showcases the remarkable breadth of Harvard’s global engagement. During Worldwide Week, Harvard Schools, research Centers, departments, and student organizations host a series of events and activities that highlight the breadth and depth of Harvard’s global engagement.

Worldwide Week will be delivered entirely virtually for fall 2020, allowing audiences to join in from all over the world and affording attendees even greater opportunities for participation.

The 2020 Worldwide Week will kick off on Friday October 2 and continue with events through Friday, October 9. The weeklong series of events includes a wide range of academic and cultural activities, and many are open to the entire university community and the public.

“24 Hours of Harvard” a centerpiece for 4th annual Worldwide Week at Harvard


24 Hours of Harvard logo

The Office of the Vice Provost for International Affairs (OVPIA) at Harvard University is pleased to announce a unique and unprecedented event, “24 Hours of Harvard”, during the 2020 Worldwide Week at Harvard. Broadcasted on Wednesday, October 7 and Thursday, October 8, “24hH” will feature 24 consecutive hours of Harvard programming–an around-the-clock, around-the-world lineup of events and activities, underscoring that at any hour of the day or night, Harvard teaching, research, learning, and outreach is happening somewhere in the world.

24hH will be anchored by activities and events organized by Harvard’s global offices and research sites and will also feature programming based on Harvard’s home campus in Cambridge and Boston, Massachusetts, USA. It will feature both live and pre-recorded events on a variety of themes, from pandemics and global health, to governance and democracy, to human rights and social justice. Some events will focus more broadly on Harvard’s work in a country or region.

Following its successful presence in the 2017, 2018, and 2019 iterations of the Worldwide Week, CHS Greece participates again in this major Harvard event and sponsors or co-sponsors 3 events. Each of these events is unique in terms of structure, topic, goals, media, participants, and prospective attendees, but they all aim to highlight the interdisciplinary profile of CHS Greece and the value of collaboration between the global offices of the University in connecting Harvard to the world and keeping the world connected to Harvard. All three events will be broadcasted on Vimeo and will be open to all. The program can be accessed via worldwideweek.harvard.edu where links to 24hH are available.

Citizenship in the 21st century: Insights across time and space. Panel discussion

October 7, 2020, 6–7pm Greece time / 11am–12pm EDT

Collaborative dance and music session. Music and dance event

October 7, 2020, 8–9pm Greece time / 1pm–2pm EDT

#After Lockdown: Very short stories about enduring a global pandemic. Film-premiere

October 8, 2020, 3:30–4:30am Greece time / 8.30pm–9.30pm EDT (October 7, 2020)

#After Lockdown, film discussion

October 9, 2020, 7:00–8:30pm Greece time / 12.00pm–1.30pm EDT

Worldwide week 2020 logo   Office of the Vice Provost for International Affairs logo